• reviews  
     • bio.pdf 
     • pic 1   
     • pic 2  

•   Brothers Nick & Dennis Kipridis' fascination with vintage blues led to putting a group together, modelling themselves on the classic sound of early Muddy Waters. The initial lineup of guitar, bass, drums and harmonica was soon implemented by a 2nd guitarist (Sav Palaktsoglou).

• This lineup continued until 1992 when the group's Delta/ Chicago/Swamp sound was stretched to include "Big-Town" blues styles (BB King/T-Bone Walker), with the harp replaced by a two-piece horn section and a new drummer (Neil Mildren).

•   Around this time, Nick, Dennis & Sav put together "The Flying Geronimos", a trio playing raw, funky blues in the vein of Elmore James and Hound Dog Taylor.

•   1994 saw Harry Milochis take the drum seat; it was this lineup that recorded four tracks for local blues compilation, "Deep South".

•   This CD earned them a "Best New Blues band" award at the '94 Lithgow blues festival, NSW. Their opening track "Hummingbird", came runner-up as "Best blues song" and Nick as nominee for "Best new male artist".

•   In 1995, Steven Peterka was enlisted on drums and the horns dropped for a back-to-basics sound. It is this lineup which continued up until the Moondogs CD.

•   A high watermark in the group's career was the recording of its debut, full-length CD in 1996. "Waiting on you" independently went on to win new fans, both nationally and overseas as word spread about this bunch of unknowns with that sound.

•  A third independent release in 1999, further sealed the group's reputation as a fresh, vibrant new musical force in the blues/roots field. "Two minutes to curtains" was a seven-track live EP; an accurate snapshot of a band constantly evolving.

•   By the time their 3rd long-player "Under the Moondogs" was recorded in 2005, years of gigging, personal circumstances and other influences played a key role in reshaping the band's sound, resulting in a diverse, yet interweaved set of tracks that continue to inspire new audiences.

•   Over the years, the band has been fortunate enough to play with some popular performers in the blues field, namely:

Junior Wells, Charlie Musselwhite, The Holmes Brothers, Carey Bell, Big Jay McNeely, Eugene "Hideaway" Bridges, Dave Hole, The Fabulous Thunderbirds, Scottie Miller, Taj Mahal and Joe Louis Walker.

•   2008 and Sav leaves the group as long-standing guitarist, to be replaced with Billy "Bob" Rankine on guitar and Deryck Charles on keybords. As a quintet, the band's sound changes once again to include more rock/blues stylings. Work on a new album commences.

•   "Signs" released August 2009. It's the first album to feature the new five-piece line up.

•  "House of fire" released November 2014.

•  "Kicking back the blues" released June 2019.

©Streamliners 2019